Qualification Specification

Highfield Level 2 International Award in Risk Assessment

An Overview

A brief about this 'Risk Assessment' qualification

This qualification is help familiarize with principles of Risk Assessment.

It covers as to why risk assessments are so important in order for the prevention of accidents and ill health.

The process for risk assessment: hazard identification, risk analysis, risk evaluation against the criteria and determine controls to manage the risks.


Delivery and Assessment

For effective delivery and assessment of this qualification, it is recommended that a ratio of 1 qualified tutor to a maximum of 20 learners in any one instance is not exceeded.

The time it takes to deliver it effectively

Duration for 'Risk Assessment' qualification

Recommended guided learner hours: 6 hours.

The delivery of this program can be adjusted according to needs of the learners.

The ways to evaluate the effectiveness of the training delivered

Guidance on Assessment

End of course multiple-choice questions (MCQs) examination.

15 questions.

Pass marks: 9 correct answers i.e 60%.

12 (80%) correct answers or above will result in a Merit.


The learners should have the necessary standards of the language in which the course is being delivered.

Subject area qualifications include:
• Level 3 qualification in Health and Safety or Risk Assessment, or equivalent;
• IOSH Managing Safety; and
• Any other qualification and/or experience deemed appropriate by Highfield.

Suitable teaching qualifications include:
• Highfield Level 3 International Award in Delivering Training (IADT);
• Highfield Level 3 or 4 Award in Education and Training or equivalent;
• Proof of at least 30 hours of training in any subject; and
• Any other qualification and/or experience deemed appropriate by Highfield.

Each learner’s identification is checked before they can sit the examination/assessment. Following are acceptable  as proof of a learner’ Identity:
• National identity card e.g. Emirates ID card
• Valid passport
• Driving licence
• Another photographic ID card, e.g. employee ID card (must be the current employer), student ID card, travel card etc.

Progression and further learning routes include:
• Highfield Level 2 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace (QCF),
• Highfield Level 3 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace (QCF), and
• Highfield Level 3 Award in Risk Assessment (QCF).

    Contact us through any of the below channels

    For Further Information

    00971 50 406 5134